Bat Rep – eDenny v Xerxis (35pts)

Well after some smack talking on Facebook, Jonathan and I got down to the business of duelling it out on the field of battle.  I had no set plan for the force I would take, other than running eDenny.

  • eDenny
  • Nightmare
  • Nightwretch
  • Skarlock Thrall
  • Warwitch Siren
  • McThralls (min)
  • Bile Thralls (min)
  • Bane Thralls (min)
  • Blackbanes (min)

One of my key elements in this game, was to get faster activations.  It has been one of my killers in tournaments, so to this end I found moving one model the full distance; the rest approximated the required distance (given terrain/other models).  That doesn’t mean cheating on the distance, your first model moved gives you the maximum distance you can move; so as long as you don’t go past that it should be fine.  Ones going through terrain, I usually did measure fully; just so my opponent saw it.

Anyway to battle…..I deployed first, thanks to my usual bad dice rolls.  Standard formation of McThralls (front), Biles (middle) and Banes (back) one behind the other.  eDenny and jacks deployed to the right of the infantry, one Nightwretch and Blackbanes on the left flank.  Solos on the right flank to help support that flank against the massed Skorne army.

  • Tyrant Xerxis
  • Titan Gladiator
  • Molik Karn
  • Aptimus Marketh
  • Paingiver Beast Handlers
  • Praetorian Swordsmen (full + UA)
  • Nihilators (full)

The infantry I wasn’t too worried about, which turned out to be the case; which was slowly eroded away by waves of McThralls/Biles/Banes.  Plus a few good shots from the Nightwretchs in turn 2.  My biggest concern was Molik Karn, which I wanted to avoid at all costs.  Putting Pursuit on Karn early doors, helped a lot; as I meant I could keep Denny one step away from him; or get the Nightmare in closer.  Another saving grace was Incorporeal, which was great on feat turn.  Denny charged Karn placing (Dark Banishment) him right in front of Xerxis to stop the counter charge with magic weapons.  Without the feat, Denny was wide open for the assassination; having charged into the middle of the hornet’s nest.

From there, it was hit and run/incorporeal tactics with Denny, having lost both Nightwretches and the Nightmare.  One Bane and 3 Blackbanes left, who actually managed to hit Xerxis; setting him on fire.  In the end, Xerxis was consumed in a firey ball of screaming death; after Denny took him to one point of health and placed him 5 inches away with Dark Banishment.

A thoroughly enjoyable game, with an opponent that can give as good as he takes.  I look forward to the rematch, maybe even tomorrow; a win for my birthday would be appropriate.

Leave a Reply

