January Blues

Probably the residual effects of a really bad festive season, but I just can’t seem to get going at the moment.  Painting has stalled, I got my first game of Warmachine/Hordes, of 2012 on Tuesday and I just can’t get up the enthusiasm to get going on the tournament in a couple of weeks.

That said, the couple of games I played on Tuesday; have helped to buoy my spirits wonderfully.  First game, 35pt pGoreshade v pButcher; which was lost before we even started.  I haven’t run Goreshade in a long time, so when I pull out Nightwretches and Skarlock Thrall; it doesn’t trigger that I am wasting points.  It is that bad, it was half way through the game; when I remembered what pGore feat.  So I had to then dig out my Banes, ready to use them.  Suffice to say, Dave smashed me with his Man-O-War Shocktroopers.

I followed this up with a 25pt game of pMadrak v pMorghoul.  This was a lot of fun, even though I had a Titan Gladiator; pummel my Blitzer into the ground in one activation.  With just 2 Boomhowlers and Madrak to end the game, it was feat time.  Watching Madrak scythe his way through Nihilators and Pain Givers, to get to Morghoul; was awesome to watch.  I certainly didn’t forget the lesson, that I learned in Dundee last year; that you check models first before declaring activation ended.  As it was, Madrak didn’t kill Morghoul that turn, but it was close thing; with Madrak down to 1 pt of health after weathering Morghoul and Cyclops attacks.  Thank goodness for Grindar’s Scroll, that Scroll meant I was able to finish off Morghoul next turn.

If that wasn’t enough excitement, we kicked off a campaign; using the new Lord of the Rings RPG – The One Ring.  I’m playing a scholarly female Elf of Mirkwood, Miliana Starshine, in the company of 2 Dwarves and one Hobbit companions.  Yes you read that right, I am playing a female elf.  I think of it as the greater challenge in roleplaying, to play the opposite sex.  Hence, why most of my rpg characters have been female.  Plus it’s pretty funny, when innuendo’s start to fly about her sexuality (man trapped in a womans body, etc).  With Iron Kingdoms v2 coming this year, I am really looking forward to getting back into my RPG’s.

Leave a Reply

