Criticism

Throughout our lives, we all have to accept that things don’t always please others.  There is a famous saying adapted by Abraham Lincoln, from a poem by John Lydgate – “You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.

Basic human nature, will always find fault with something.  How we deal with the criticism of that displeasure, is just as diverse a subject.  Some people just shrug it off, some ignore it; others will rant or deny it.  I tend to fall into the shrug it off, but it will play on my mind; making me think about how or why others are displeased with me.  It was recently noted, that I expressed an opinion of hated about something.  Through the wonders of technology, I was able to analyse the comments I made.  I accept, that I did in fact make negative comments about this; but object to the claim that I hate it.  My counter to this, would be that there is no smoke without fire. There must be some justification, why are so many claimed to be shouting “We Hate *******”; that it is almost a mantra with some sections of the gaming community.  Where does the line get drawn, between expressing an opinion and hatred?  Tough one to call, but I know one thing for sure; I’ll keep my mouth shut next time.

Leave a Reply

