Malifaux – Kirai Boxset

With David becoming a Henchman for Malifaux, I decided to dip my toes into the waters with a boxset.  Reading this blog, you’ll know I love anything Japanese; so Kirai was the natural choice.  Though I do admit that I came very close to getting the Dr McMourning set.

While the game itself isn’t as explosive as WM/H (imo), I do love the models and the fact that they have taken inspiration from real life.  Take Kirai for instance, it’s my belief that she is based on the Kuchisake-Onna or Slit Mouthed Woman myth.  From my days of playing Legend of the 5 Rings, I know Datsue-ba; the clothes stealing blind hag.  Ikiryo aren’t just your standard ghosts, they are ghostly manifestations of a living person.  So the person isn’t actually dead, but they are able to project part of their essence out of the body. They say Hell Hath no Fury like a Woman Scorned, well that is essentially what the Onryo are.  Vengeful ghosts, mostly of women; who have been neglected or wronged in some way.  Given the ‘darker’ side of the other models, the Seishin is a little more difficult; as traditionally there are very few evil dragons.  Seishin, in Japanese is Spiritual Guide/Way, so perhaps they were trying to give it a Japanese look.  What better guide than a dragon, which is considered lucky in most of the Asian cultures.

I’m looking forward to trying them out on Saturday, though they won’t get a lick of paint for a while now.

One thought on “Malifaux – Kirai Boxset

Leave a Reply

