Battle Report – Dundee SR 27/2/11

Once again I hit the tournament trail, this time up to sunny Dundee (yep it actually was sunny for a change).  Accompanying me this time, a new player to the tournaments, but certainly not new to the game.  Mark drove us both up there, which for me was a blessing.  Having been to the last one, I knew it would be a long hard day for me.  Driving back last time, was a real struggle; so my thanks to Mark in this is well earned.

So how did it go?  I know since the first tournament I played in, that I have improved a lot.  This was certainly shown in the closeness of game today.  I took three lists with me, but decide on the following two in the end.

  • pDenny
  • Ripper
  • Ripper
  • Wretch
  • Wretch
  • Slayer
  • Bane Thralls (Min)
  • Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters (Min)
  • McThralls (Min)
  • Warwitch Siren

Main list was supposed to be

  • pGore
  • Nightmare
  • Slayer
  • Stalker
  • Blackbanes Ghost Raiders (Min)
  • Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters (Min)
  • McThralls (Min)
  • Ogrun Bokur
  • Warwitch Siren

Second game was again against Mercs, using the same bloody caster.  Learning feats is a good thing, Ashlynn’s feat is one that is really frustrating. Every model in Ashlynn’s control area is caught.  The result of this, is that the Mercs got 4 dice to attack; taking the highest two.  I however got 4 dice as well (yay), with only the lowest two counting (booo).

 

First Merc, as I said, was Ashlynn.  I know there was 4 Vanguards and I think a full unit of Steelhead Riflemen.  With so many ranged, I took Goreshade; Shadowmancer being a must have against ranged.  I lost this game due to caster kill, but not before I pulled a sneaky on Ashlynn.  During her feat turn, my Nightmare was in melee with a Vanguard.  Perhaps not expecting me to do it on the feat turn of all times, I did a double handed throw against his caster.  Even though it missed, deviation still caught her; doing a massive 2 points of damage.  Ok so not much, but it was fun doing it at that time.

I might have the first two games mixed up, reason being is they both played Mercs; with the same caster.  I can’t fully remember the army list of this one, but it definitely had Ashlynn D’Elyse, Hammerfall High Gun Corp.  Even though I lost by one control point, I feel I did well in this game.  My Nyss Hunters were steadily taking the out the Hammerfall, while my Slayer was holding the line well.  Sadly time was called on this one, so lost on control points only.  I ran the Denny list this time, doing reasonably well to only lose 1 control point; before time was called.

Third game was a frustrating one, to say the least.  Running Denny probably wasn’t my best choice, as they had pSkarre with Satyxis Raiders.  These things are a right royal pain in the ass, as essentially I lost the game through caster kill; without actually getting hit directly.  Somehow, he was able to use Combined Melee Attack, using two different melee weapons on two different models.  Using Horns on one, while another was using the Lacerator whip.  The Feedback was doing 2 points of damage every time he hit me, which with a full unit of Raiders; was about 6 points a turn on Denny.  I did question this at the time, but it was deemed legal by the Press Ganger.  Suffice to say, with some crappy dice rolls and not able to kill the Raiders quickly enough; I lost out on a win.  Attrition wise, I was mopping the floor with him; a couple more turns and his Caster was gone.

So 0 – 3 so far, could I pull it out the bag at the last minute.  Last up and certainly my most enjoyable game, my old nemisis Cygnar.   He ran with Kraye, Hunter, Hammersmith x2, Firefly, Squire, Stormsmiths, Black 13th (I really hate these guys), Arcane Gun Mage and Trenchers (I think).  This was a pretty close game, which once again my Nyss Hunters were brilliant.  I lost the Blackbane’s real quickly, to Black 13th; magic bullets once again giving me grief.  McThralls lasted pretty well, even doing some good work against the Firefly.  Slayer got mauled by one of the Hammersmiths, while the Nightmare lasted pretty well against the other.  The stars of the show, were the Warwitch Siren and the Ogrun Bokur though.  Some well placed charges caused the Black 13th some grief (yay!!!), while also helping to hem in the Hammersmith on the Nightmare.  Goreshade risked a mauling from the Firefly, but survived having popped his feat the previous turn.  The feat turn Banes, Stalker and remaining Blackbane’s; then all converged on Kraye.  Sadly Warwitch Siren, Bokur, last Nyss and Nightmare had succumbed to the Trenchers withering fire.  This left the control zone empty, for my opponent to claim one control point on his turn; just minutes before time was called.  A few more minutes, I could have claimed caster kill victory conditions; despite losing the control point.

So 0 – 4, some would think that a complete disaster of a day.  Today has been the complete opposite to me, in that I have learned so much in just 4 games.  Firstly and perhaps most important to me personally, is that I am improving dramatically.  My last opponent, who I have played previously; made that very observation.  Hearing that, from someone else; has actually made my day.  The other thing I learned, is that you should never give up, even if things look grim.  Most of my games today, I took a beating early doors.  Things didn’t look good, but I played on; trying to salvage what I could.  As noted in the last game, this nearly turned in my favour.  Lastly, if you don’t know something about your opponent; don’t be afraid to ask.  I learned the hard way about Satyxis Raiders, because I didn’t ask to see the card.

So big thanks to everyone who came along today, it was a long day; but for me worth it in so many ways.  Winning the Wooden Spoon and Best Painted, helped as well; so wasn’t all doom and gloom.

Leave a Reply

